Alaska’s National Distinguished Principal

The Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals is proud to announce our National Distinguished Principal for 2017 is Lisa Vrvilo, principal of Cottonwood Creek Elementary School in Wasilla, Alaska. The 2017 NDP Celebration marks the 33 rd year that the National Association of Elementary School Principals has presented this prestigious award.

Lisa Vrvilo Photo
Lisa Vrvilo – Alaska’s 2017 National Distinguished Principal
Lisa Vrvilo was nominated and selected by her fellow principals through a statewide search process conducted by the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals.

A graduate of the University of Alaska Anchorage with a Masters Educational Leadership, Vrvilo also holds a Bachelor of Science degree from The University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon. She has served as principal of Cottonwood Creek Elementary for the past ten years.

Vrvilo has served as principal of the largest elementary school in Matanuska-Susitna Borough for the past ten years, leading over 500 students and staff by example each day. A principal colleague, says Vrvilo’s “presence in her school radiates positivity, and she is always on the move serving others every minute of every day.” She put the word ACTION in their school name, when in 2012 her school’s proposal to become a STEAM optional program was adopted by the district. Since then, under her leadership, the innovation continues to grow with continuous professional development for teachers and 1:1 technology implementation for the students.

Vrvilo will travel to Washington DC in October 2017 for two days of activities planned to honor and bring well-deserved recognition to the elementary educators selected by their respective states.

AAESP believes that Lisa Vrvilo is well deserving of the National Distinguished Principals’ award. We are proud to acknowledge her leadership and commitment to Alaska’s children representing Alaska’s Elementary Principals.

NDP_Logo_color_Web_5_2 The National Distinguished Principals program honors outstanding elementary and middle-level administrators who ensure that America’s children acquire a sound foundation for lifelong learning and achievement. The program was established in 1984 to recognize and celebrate elementary and middle-level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities.
[Learn More]

Past NDP Recipients

Do you have a photo of a past Alaska NDP recipient? Please send it to the AAESP Executive Director (contact info at bottom-right).